Small actions do have big impact

So like most Ugandans I find myself complaining about this and that which is not proper or not working as I would like in this beautiful country. In the same breath I remind myself that there is a lot working and I should focus on that instead of complaining. Again I am reminded that it is so easy to complain and see mountains out of other peoples actions while I diminish my own actions and how they contribute to the overall functioning of this country.

I was having this conversation with ‘myself’ as I waited in a terrible traffic jam where we barely moved. As we painfully waited in the long line there were others who chose to drive past and form parallel lines which worsened the traffic jam because then the movements were paralyzed. We all know that when we maintain the one lane in a place made for one lane, the cars move faster. It was very frustrating and tempting to get out of the proper lane and squeeze into the ‘illegal’ lane so that I move faster but then God reminds me that small actions like that eventually lead to the big actions and also affect the general outlook of the country.

The best example of this has to do with trash that we find all over the place especially in the urban centers. It is very sad watching someone throw rubbish out the window of a vehicle alongside the road. Maybe they do not see how their one plastic bag or bottle, or whatever affects the face of the city and country and negatively the environment. This is the same for things to do with all sorts of pollution form personal level and business that choose to release sewage in our lakes and rivers.

I think until we question how our everyday actions fit in creating a better or worse world, we will continue to complain about what is going wrong without seeing how our own actions contribute to this. My prayer is that we make deliberate efforts in contributing positively to our world whether it be’s in how we use energy, water, food or keep our environments clean. Remember that it is easy to see how corrupt our government is and yet we oversee our small actions like paying the Askari to let us in beyond the visitation hours.

Published by

miriamtravels

I am a struggling blogger, tourist guide and owner of Kagera Safaris Ltd (www.kagerasafaris.com) a company based in Kampala – Uganda, offering 'African Memorable Expressions'. I am passionate about people development, photography and travel. When I travel, I enjoy interacting with the locals in the area where I has traveled. I love learning.

Leave a Reply

