Maybe you should travel more

I remember from an early age how I loved traveling, the highlight were trips to Fort portal to visit my Aunt. Now that I am older, it is a short journey from Mbarara to Fort portal but then it was almost an entire day’s journey. While others dreaded it, I looked forward to it. I can truly say I was made for travel and adventure. One of Aunt’s while growing up insisted that ’embwa ekaguligasa ebigere’ which loosely translates to ‘the dog licked your feet’ because in my culture there’s a belief that this causes one to always been on the move.

img_1755
Canopy walk in Nyungwe forest – Rwanda

First forward many years on I am so grateful that I get to work in tourism industry by planning tours for people in Uganda, Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania and Burundi under Kagera Safaris Ltd. This allows me to travel to all these destinations because I prefer to sell destinations where I have personally traveled. If I have not been there and the client asks about it. I will makes calls to gather enough information and include it on my familiarization tour. I am so thankful that I get to travel to destinations beyond east Africa as I market Uganda and Kagera safaris in particular.

img_4011
Visiting a Masai village adjacent to Masai Mara conservancy in Kenya

I look forward to many escapades across Africa and the world even and in particular Uganda, I am yet to exhaust it. Travel brings out the beauty of destinations, from the nature to the landscape, to the people. I find that in most places I visit especially in East Africa, I always leave after making some friends. Sometimes people ask me if I have known these people prior to the trip but I say no. I am amazed at how different and yet similar we are as humans. I think travel will reduce the ignorance people have of other cultures and hopefully build relations and connections that will allow us leave more in and at peace with one another. We shall see where we can offer help and by being helpful create a better world. In addition to increasing your knowledge, travel can also be relaxing and help  take off the stress and monotony of work – home.

img_2337

I invite you to consider traveling to a new destination every quarter a year. It can be in different country, different part of your country or simply different part of your town where you have never been before. Travel does not have to last many days, it can be for a short weekend or simply hours in a different part of town. Do not wait for only the out of this world exotic experiences but the opportunity to experience life. It does not have to be expensive either, you can choose to drive to your destination, travel with a group of friends or family or even take public transportation. Whatever you choose and can afford, get out of your little world and explore the wider world.

Published by

miriamtravels

I am a struggling blogger, tourist guide and owner of Kagera Safaris Ltd (www.kagerasafaris.com) a company based in Kampala – Uganda, offering 'African Memorable Expressions'. I am passionate about people development, photography and travel. When I travel, I enjoy interacting with the locals in the area where I has traveled. I love learning.

Leave a Reply

