Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders

My journey to Reno – Nevada for the Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders began on 18th June 2015 when I left home at 6pm for the Airport. Or it probably began much earlier when I applied for the fellowship last year in October/November.

Javas - Victoria Mall.
Javas – Victoria Mall.

My friend offered to drop me at the airport to which I was super thankful. The usually jammed roads gave way for me – it was surprising that there was much less traffic than usual. We arrived in Entebbe about 8 pm. After a quick bite at Javas – Victoria mall we proceeded to the airport. The check in was not dramatic except that the handle of one of my suitcases gave way. I then joined the other Ugandan fellows heading out to different Universities in the US for a last ‘catch up’.

Entebbe Airport with other Ugandan Fellows
Entebbe Airport with other Ugandan Fellows

The entire trip was about 27 hours and that took a toll on me. By the last connection flight I was so worn out and getting irritable. The first flight was 8hrs 30min to Amsterdam, Netherlands and next was 10hr 15min to Salt Lake City, USA and lastly 1hr 15min to Tahoe International Airport, Reno-Nevada. I am thankful for journey mercies and looking forward to such a rich experience as I interact with business leaders and fellows from across Africa.

Arrival at Reno Tahoe International Airport
Arrival at Reno Tahoe International Airport
Published by

miriamtravels

I am a struggling blogger, tourist guide and owner of Kagera Safaris Ltd (www.kagerasafaris.com) a company based in Kampala – Uganda, offering 'African Memorable Expressions'. I am passionate about people development, photography and travel. When I travel, I enjoy interacting with the locals in the area where I has traveled. I love learning.

Leave a Reply

